Discovering Your Signature Style: What are You Trying to Accomplish?

“A woman should be two things: classy and fabulous.” – Coco Chanel

The above quote is my fashion mantra. When it comes to my wardrobe, these are the words that I live by. When my wardrobe speaks for me, “classy and fabulous” is what I want it to say. Even when I was younger and didn’t quite have a signature style, I would gravitate towards clothes that are considered chic and timeless. I was certainly the only 15-year-old rocking a little black dress and pearls to homecoming.  (I tried to find a pic, I swear!)

However, it wasn’t until I got older and found myself not only looking, but also feeling, my best in these clothes that I made more of an effort to make sure that my wardrobe projected exactly who I am and wanted to be.

What am I trying to accomplish with my wardrobe? I want to be regarded as classy and fabulous (duh), chic, elegant, timeless, lady-like with just the slightest air of mystery and warmth all rolled into one. Oh, and as a young, black woman in corporate America, I need to appear confident and be taken seriously too!

Once I decided what I was trying to accomplish with my wardrobe, it became easier to shop for myself and build a wardrobe that told my story.

Your first step in determining your signature style is to decide what you are trying to accomplish with your style.

It does not have to be classy or fabulous. It could be edgy. Trendy. Artsy. Sporty. Clean. Simple. Elegant. Trendsetter. Fun. Serious. Not at all serious. Quirky. Confident. Ugly pretty. Pretty ugly. You get the picture. Your wardrobe and signature style are all about expressing exactly who you are through the clothes that you wear.

And don’t worry, we will not be boxing you in to one set look. Determining what you want to accomplish is setting a frame of reference and giving you a style starting point. What fun would fashion be if we didn’t take risks and break molds? But more on that in a later post!

For now, you have an assignment. Write down all the words that describe who you are and who you want to be. Then, pick the 3-5 words from that list that you want your style to project. We are going to build your signature style based on those key words.

You’ve got a week to get this done. So hop to it! And, be sure to comment below and share what your style words are! I can’t wait to see what everyone has chosen.

Your Chic is Showing,

Leave a Reply

