Discovering Your Signature Style: Studying the Icons

“I wear my sort of clothes to save me the trouble of deciding which clothes to  wear.” —Katherine Hepburn

After you’ve decided what you are trying to accomplish with your style (click here for a recap of Step 1), the next step in discovering your signature style is to study famous style icons to get ideas about looks that you like and want to mimic.

When I think of the style icons who are classy and fabulous, women like Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, Princess Diana, Audrey and Katherine Hepburn, Grace Kelly, Iman, Elle Macpherson and Beverly Johnson all come to mine.  They all maintain a certain element of effortless chic (often reserved for Italian and Parisian women) with their style.  Their trademarks are well-tailored clothes, simple patterns and elegant lines.  When they found something they loved that works, they stick with it.

After taking the time to study these women, it was easy to find patterns and key pieces and themes that lent themselves to this particular brand of chic: black turtlenecks, cigarette pants, oversized sunglasses, pearl necklaces, trench coats, black stilettos, a printed scarf, a monochromatic color scheme, etc.

Now, my wardrobe is filled with oversized sunglasses, shift dresses, pearls of varying sizes and a key, tailored pieces. I don’t wear these items every single day, but since they are staples in my wardrobe, it is easy for me to buy new pieces that fit into my overall style.

Now it’s your turn to discover the style icons that speak to you (homework alert!).  Whether it’s Iman or David Bowie take the time to study photos of your icons (both professional and candids) and really understand what makes their style their own.  Is it a knack for an out there accessory (hello Lady Gaga) or a signature accessory (think Diane Keaton and her gloves)?  Create a style board, a photo collage or a favorites folder on the internet to save your favorite photos of your icon.  Let their style be the basis of your wardrobe by understanding which pieces and themes work best for your body type and understanding which do not (I look wretched in cigarette pants!).

Be sure to check in and let me know who your personal style stars are!

Your Chic is Showing,

6 thoughts on “Discovering Your Signature Style: Studying the Icons

    1. Oh my gosh!! I’m so sorry I missed your comment!! Love Michelle Obama’s style! There is def a reason they call her the “commander in chic!” Thank you so much for stopping by! I hope you’ll visit the blog often!

Leave a Reply

