Discovering Your Signature Style: Think Outside the Box

“Just around the corner in every woman’s mind – is a lovely dress, a wonderful suit, or entire costume which will make an enchanting new creature of her.” — Wilhela Cushman

Introduction  I  Step 1  I  Step 2  I  Step 3  I  Step 4

We’ve reached the end of our signature style series and there is just one final step left: Think Outside the Box. 

We’ve spent a lot of time focusing on exactly what you want your style to say and how you want to say it.  We’ve given thought to what kind of person you want your style to portray and what kind of message you want to give.  We’ve considered fit, proportion and key pieces that make-up your signature style statement.

Now, I want you take a step back from that box and find a few pieces that don’t fit your signature style at all.   I know, it sounds completely crazy and counterintuitive.  But, it’s exactly what I want you to do.

Here’s why . . .

Jackie O in her signature sunglasses; Image: http://strawberrymoth.com

If you wear the exact same clothes in the exact same style every day, you may find yourself in a style rut.  Sometimes, it’s good to shake things up a bit.  I am not, suggesting that if you’re Signature Style is Jackie O, that you go all Lady Gaga on us.  I’m merely suggesting that if you’re more Jackie O, that you channel a little Lady Gaga and wear some oversized sunglasses (completely within your style realm) that are white, not black (a la Gaga).

Lady Gaga’s white oversized sunglasses from the “Bad Romance” video. Image: http://everythingsunglasses.blogspot.com

Life would be incredibly boring if we wore the same all black (though chic) ensembles all the time.  If you find yourself wearing all black, try switching it up to all white.  Or another monochromatic look.  If you stick to Bermuda shorts, try one of the shorter lengths.  You don’t have to go all Nair on us (who wears short shorts?) but you could try a mid-thigh length.

Thinking outside the box does not have to be wild or crazy.  It could just be dramatically different.  For most of my life I’ve been a long hair girl.  I’ve cut my hair a few times, but nothing much shorter than shoulder length.  Last fall, I decided to cut my hair in a Rihanna inspired look.  Like no hair in the back, I still can’t get a snatch-back hair cut.  It was very out of the box and dramatically different from anything I’d done.  And you know what?  I LOVED it!  I loved everything about it.  Faux hawking it when I went out.  Slicking it to the side for big work meetings.  I el oh vee ee dee it!  It was just the change I needed to pull me out of a style rut.  When I found myself in another rut, I just added some weave (look, I’m not even going to pretend that hair is mine).  This week, I’m going back to my hair and seeing what look my stylist and I come up with.  Disclaimer: Cutting off all of your hair is NOT for the faint of heart. 

Long hair before the chop  After the chop   

The point is, in fashion, we should take risks – even if they’re calculated.  Some of your best looks like come from combination of your signature style and thinking outside of the box.  This week’s assignment: try that neon nail polish.  Throw on an animal print.  Get that hair cut.  Do something different!  The worst that can happen is that you a new look and it doesn’t work.  But, that’s the beauty of fashion; you can always wake up and try again tomorrow.

It is my sincere hope that you have enjoyed the series on Discovering Your Signature Style and that you’ve been following along with the steps each week.  I would love for you all to email pictures of your signature style and each step along the way so that we can share it here on the blog!  If you’d like to share, please email: yourchicisshowing@gmail.com with your photos and brief descriptions about your journey (i.e. your key words, style icons, key pieces, etc.).

Thank you for sharing.  Our next series will focus on a fashion staple, the white t-shirt.  You don’t want to miss it!

Your Chic is Showing,

          

 

Leave a Reply

